Tree Trimming: How Often?

BorisYeltsin's picture

We live in SoCal, and have about 5 trees: Orange, Tangerine, Avocado, Chestnut, and another one I can't think of the name. Most are mature trees, e.g., tall with lotsa large (old) branches and lotsa new (younger) branches.

I can not do the trimming myself; I don't have a selection of chain saws, ladders, rope,and specialized equipment necessary to do this myself, nor the training.

We got a bid for, . . gulp. . . $2,500 to do the work, which seems high to me, but what the heck do I know.

Question One: How often should trees be trimmed?

Question Two: You'all won't know the answer but, Is $2,500 a good price?

Thanks to everyone who posts a response. I am a contractor and post over at breaktime, not an arborist.

Regards,

Boris

"Sir, I may be drunk, but you're crazy, and I'll be sober tomorrow" -- WC Fields, "Its a Gift" 1927

Regards, Boris "Sir, I may be drunk, but you're crazy, and I'll be sober tomorrow" -- WC Fields, "Its a Gift" 1934
LIBugGuy's picture

(post #12622, reply #1 of 4)

That's probably about right for 5 trees, my folks have paid close to that for pruning one mature oak (ok, it included taking out one of three trunks and topping the other two a bit)

Just be sure whoever you get knows how to trim for fruit production rather than shade, if that's what you want.

Gardening in the heart of the suburban sandbar- LI NY, Zone 7ish...

Selling plants from the Orange box, and doing a little garden work on the side.

LI, NY, almost zone 7, but it's been warmer of late :)

DavidxDoud's picture

(post #12622, reply #2 of 4)

Boris,  why do you want to prune the trees?  this has relevance to your two questions -